Do you have to be a member of a board to access its MLS?

I’m a principal REALTOR® member of my local board, but I also want access to MLS services from a neighboring board. Do I need to become a member of the neighboring board to get access to its MLS?

No. Under the “board of choice” policy, primary broker members of one board do not have to be members of multiple boards in order to participate in their MLS services. Boards may also require the principal broker be licensed in the state as a condition of MLS participation.

About Texas REALTORS®

The voice for Texas real estate
This entry was posted in Association business, Legal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Do you have to be a member of a board to access its MLS?

  1. Roxy McDonald says:

    Hopefully someone can help me regarding this article. I would like access to a neighboring MLS. I’m currently a member of Houston Association of Realtor’s MLS, but would like access to the MLS for the Dallas/Irving area. How can I get access without paying for another membership?

    Like

    • Maria Chavez says:

      when you find out .let me know

      Like

    • Julie says:

      I’m an active member of MetroTx and I still have to get my Broker in DFW to sign up and pay his fees and I have to pay my fees with the Permian Basin Board of Realtors to get access. Or… I get a secondary broker and sign up with the Broker in Midland and pay my portion of the fees.

      Like

  2. Pam Bratcher says:

    Roxy,
    Would this be for one transaction, or continued use? If it’s just for one transaction, you could find a Realtor from that area to help you. I’m also a member of HAR, and did that for San Antonio. You are welcome to email me and I can explain in more detail.

    Like

    • Roxy McDonald says:

      It is for one use for now. I actually paid and so did my broker for the last quarter of last year, but unfortunately, my buyer didn’t get financing in time and then had a new baby, so we weren’t able to find him a property. Now, he is ready to go, but my broker doesn’t want to pay for another quarter seeing as this is my only “out-of-area” client at the moment. I did it in the early part of last year and was able to find a property, but I had ‘pull some teeth’ with some Realtors. Some weren’t willing to help, even though I was bringing them a buyer. I will email you though, maybe you have more info!

      Like

      • Maria Chavez says:

        to El Paso Tx let me know more than willing to help you,if I can . no referral fee . just for one day or to help you out . feel free to contact me

        Like

    • Roxy McDonald says:

      Oh, can you give me your email address?! I thought it would show me, but it doesn’t. Or I can give you mine, whichever works.

      Like

    • Loyd Henderson says:

      Hello Pam, I have a listing coming up in San Antonio and would like some insight on how to get it listed, 1 time use, in San Antonio. Thanks
      loyd.henderson@Comcast.net
      Loyd Henderson
      Realm Real Estate

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Adela Schlink says:

    It’s best to call Dallas Board if Realtors and they will answer your questions

    Like

    • Roxy McDonald says:

      Well, I did that last year, but my broker doesn’t want to have to pay to join again, so that’s why I was trying to find a way around it.

      Like

  4. Lisa Browning says:

    Call me. I’m in Dallas and happy to co-op. Either to help show or research for you.
    Dallas will make you pay. 903-681-6262

    Like

    • Roxy McDonald says:

      Thank you Lisa, I will give you a call. Let me talk to my broker again and see what she wants to do. My number is 713-992-9685, so you will now when I call

      Like

  5. Wouldn’t it be awesome to have a TEXAS MLS? I understand that there would be other issues that become problematic as a result. However, to better serve our clients who transfer out to an area we normally do not serve but are fully capable of, it sure would be a great evolution of services. If the issue like this ever happens again for you but in the Rio Grande Valley, please give me a call. You won’t have to pull teeth with me. I’d be happy to help.

    Like

    • Roxy McDonald says:

      That would be an awesome concept!! I mean, since we can sell real estate anywhere in Texas, we should be able to access any MLS, it only makes sense! Thank you for the offer of help, I will definitely reach out if I do ever need help in that area and you can do the same if you ever need help in Houston. I don’t mind helping others, I don’t know why some realtors give fellow realtors such a hard time.

      Like

  6. Roxy McDonald says:

    Thank you everyone who responded. I tried to respond to you all, but for some reason, I couldn’t on some comments. I think I have the issue solved, but I truly appreciate everyone who offered their help and I will definitely reach out if needed.

    Like

  7. Nelda G Barrera says:

    I would love to be able to have to access a Texas MLS. I am in the Laredo area (Laredo Board of Realtors) and do business San Antonio and Austin TX. This would be so beneficial. If I can ever help you … i’ll Be more than happy to … we should always all work together as we are all in the same business.

    Like

  8. Ladies and Gentlemen,
    I am a Realtor right in the middle of the DFW Metroplex and would love to assist you and your client. I’ve had my license for a year, but have been assisting in family matters and have yet to even list a property. I’ll look forward to hearing from you if I can assist.

    Like

  9. If you are just curious or want to a market to invest or perhaps you are planning a move there to begin your career in that market, you can join any board as an associate member as long as you have a primary board. If you are doing this to help a prospective client, the right direction would be to refer that prospective client to an expert in that area. Learn your immediate market. You can not be an expert in all cities, Texas is too big a state. .

    Like

Leave a comment